Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Lost in moronville...

  1. #1
    Level 3 User FahQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Beltway
    Posts
    268

    Default Lost in moronville...

    OK I'm apparently special..

    Can somebody tell me how to upload pictures correctly when you post? I tried to use the URL from my Flickr account, but it says the upload file type is invalid. I uploaded them as attachment, but they are thumbnail size now. Then when I logged back in it was just link. I put them in the non-ue photo of the day post just to test it out so I'm familiar with the process, but I now feel like a dumbass.

    If anybody can give me a heads up on the correct way to do it, I'd appreciate it. Thanks!

    -Mike

  2. #2
    kts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Laurel, MD
    Posts
    3,311

    Default

    view the image from flicker and it will give you a link like: http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4042/...7040a23e46.jpg

    add some [ img ] [ /img ] brackets on either side (no spaces, i just added them so it wouldn't auto convert them and you'll get this:

    All I do is party...
    L/amE

  3. #3
    Level 3 User FahQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Beltway
    Posts
    268

    Default

    Thanks man!

    I know it is usually that easy, but the pics I've uploaded on my Flikr account just show up as a red X box in UA when I use the [img].

    The URL in my Flikr account doesn't have a .jpg at the end of it and it doesn't give me the option to open each item in a separate window/tab through internet explorer. It looks as though all the uploaded pictures are in HTML format when I checked their properties. I'm not very familiar with this account since it was just created. Is that an option that is available when you upgrade to Pro, or should I have that capability with a basic account?

    Here is an example of a photo in my account currently.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/missinlinx/4239470774/

  4. #4
    Level 3 User BlueTaco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    AA County
    Posts
    1,262

    Default

    I don't know if having a Pro Account matters, but this is what I do to post pictures from flickr:

    Click on "All Sizes" icon above pic
    Select pic size I want.
    At the bottom of the page, it says "To link to this photo on other websites you can either:" and there are 2 options.

    I use the second option 2, "Grab the photo's URL:" and copy what is in that box.

    Then, on UA I click on the box that says Insert Image and paste in the pics URL.

    When you preview your post, everything should look ok.
    Work. Buy. Consume. Die.

    -Otep

  5. #5
    kts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Laurel, MD
    Posts
    3,311

    Default

    ^^ What BlueTaco said.

    I usually just right click the image and hit "View Image" and then copy and paste the URL for that image once it's loaded.
    All I do is party...
    L/amE

  6. #6
    Level 3 User FahQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Beltway
    Posts
    268

    Default

    Test

    1

    2

  7. #7
    Level 3 User FahQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Beltway
    Posts
    268

    Default

    Good looking out fellas!! The "All Sizes" works like a champ. Thanks BlueTaco & KTS.

    I appreciate the help, and be on the lookout for pics now. I'm anxious to get out there and explore the DMV area.

  8. #8
    Level 3 User FahQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Beltway
    Posts
    268

    Default

    FYI - #2 is not snot or anything... it is yogurt during breakfast.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •